Acadian Ambulance honored its Paramedic of the Year, Cierra Nixon, and EMT of the Year, Logan Butts, during its annual luncheon at the Cajundome in Lafayette, LA, on Tuesday, May 2, 2023. From across the company’s four-state service area, 30 paramedic and EMT regional Paramedics and EMTs of the Year were also recognized, as well as the company’s entire medical team who display exemplary attitudes, tireless work ethic and dedication, and provide excellent patient care. 

Nixon and Butts both represent Acadian Ambulance’s Southeast Texas service area.

Cierra Nixon, who works out of Orange County, joined Acadian in February 2016 as an EMT. She obtained her Paramedic certification in 2018 through the National EMS Academy.

Nixon’s passion for EMS and patient care are easy to spot. She recently obtained her Critical Care Transport (CCT) certification to better serve her patients and give them the best care possible.

Nixon strives every day to figure out what she can do better to be better for her patients and for herself. Her patient advocacy and hard work she puts in inspires others. No matter how difficult a situation can be sometimes, she always does what is right. Nixon also assists her coworkers any way she can.

As she accepted the Paramedic of the Year award, Nixon thanked her family, colleagues and mentors for their understanding and support.

Logan Butts, who works out of Jefferson County, joined Acadian in February 2021. He began in the fleet department while he attended the National EMS Academy to obtain his EMT certification. 

Butts has received numerous compliments from patients he has treated, as well as their family members.. He is described as fun to work with and is a resource to other employees, particularly new hires. Butts always has a smile on his face and has a true can-do attitude. He also fills in as an adjunct instructor for EMT classes at the National EMS Academy Beaumont campus.

During his remarks, Butts recognized his family, fiancé, and management team for their contributions to his career path and success.

Senator Fred Mills Jr. was the celebration’s master of ceremonies, Louisiana State Senator Gerald Boudreaux recited the Pledge of Allegiance, Bishop J. Douglas Deshotel led the invocation, and National EMS Academy Education Coordinator Jennifer Melancon sang the national anthem.

Louisiana Governor John Bel Edwards shared some remarks on Acadian’s positive impact across the state of Louisiana. He discussed the company’s history of responding to natural and man-made disasters across Louisiana and the entire Gulf Coast. Governor Edwards thanked Acadian Ambulance’s medics for dedicating their careers to helping others and for being generous with their personal time, talent and treasure by volunteering for or supporting many charities and philanthropic organizations throughout the state.

The keynote speech was given by Dr. Rick Rigsby, a Wall Street Journal, USA Today and Amazon best-selling author whose books include Lessons From a Third Grade Dropout and Afraid to Hope. He offered words of wisdom and encouragement to attendees, from “practicing the basics”, “owning it”, and importantly, to “keep standing.”

In his closing remarks, Chairman & CEO Richard Zuschlag reflected on all those who support the company and its team, including fellow first responders and healthcare providers, governmental leaders, sponsors of the event, and the employees’ spouses, family and friends.  “All of Acadian’s divisions are proud and honored to fulfill our mission of protecting and saving lives in the communities we serve. Thanks to all of you who allow us to serve you,” he said.

Louisiana’s regional Paramedic and EMT of the Year honorees are: Bayou Region Paramedic Von Davis and EMT Whitley Allemand, Central Louisiana Paramedic Steven Smith and EMT Cade Mitchell, North Louisiana Paramedic John Palmer and EMT Jonathan Foster, Northshore Paramedic Christian Valencia and EMT Natalie Estep, Orleans Paramedic Valerie Primeaux and EMT Joseph Voiron, and Southwest LA Paramedic Rebekah White and EMT Toni Wright.

Mississippi’s regional Paramedic and EMT of the Year regional honorees are: Paramedic Jessica Jones and EMT Toby Woodard.

Tennessee’s regional Paramedic and EMT of the Year regional honorees are: Paramedic Tim Miller and EMT Ian Buxton.

Texas’ regional Paramedic and EMT of the Year regional honorees are: Central Texas Paramedic Jessica Hiler and EMT Michael Schreiber, Houston Paramedic Kristyn Vargas and EMT Holley Pritchett, North Texas Paramedic John Paul Herrera and EMT Tatiana Solis, and South-Central Texas Paramedic Hasnain Khan and EMT Clayton Smith.

Acadian Ambulance is one of the largest ambulance services in the nation, offering emergency and non-emergency transportation to areas in Louisiana, Texas, Mississippi and Tennessee.

Since 1971, Acadian Companies has been dedicated to providing the highest level of emergency medical care and transportation possible. The company has expanded to include a diverse suite of services designed to offer the very best support and education in health, safety, security, education and transportation.

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!