May 18, 2017
Acadian Ambulance Holds 2017 Medic of the Year Luncheon

L-R: Senior Vice President Danny Lennie, Chief Medical Officer Dr. Chuck Burnell, EMT of the Year Tyler Niblett, Paramedic of the Year Coty Peardon, Guest Speaker Bill Curry, Chairman & CEO Richard Zuschlag, Acadian Ambulance President Jerry Romero

Acadian Ambulance held its annual luncheon at the Cajundome on Thursday, May 18, 2017, to recognize its paramedics and EMTs who display exemplary attitudes, tireless work ethic and dedication, and provide excellent patient care. From across the company’s Louisiana and Mississippi service areas, 18 finalists were nominated by their peers.

Paramedic Coty Peardon and EMT Tyler Niblett have been selected as the 2017 winners. Both honorees represent Jackson County, Mississippi.

When Coty Peardon was 16, he joined an EMS scouting group called Venturing that offered camping, whitewater rafting and ambulance ridealongs. There, he learned the true merits of teamwork while finding his calling to help others, and a passion for EMS was born.

After joining Acadian Ambulance in November 2015, Peardon obtained his Critical Care Transport certification. He is currently helping to revamp the new-hire process in Jackson County, establish an Acadian Explorer Post and create an EMS competition, and he is actively pursuing his flight paramedic certification.

“This is a truly prestigious honor and one that I am very appreciative that you have bestowed upon me. Throughout the following year, and my subsequent career, I will strive to uphold this title and attempt to live up to it’s accompanied expectations. Thank you all,” Peardon said during his acceptance speech.

He acknowledged his Jackson County colleagues, saying, “The more time you spend with people, the more you begin to pick up characteristics from them. These people, and many others, are my team. We work day in and day out as a team, we promote each other as a team, and when we succeed, we succeed together as a team.”

Tyler Niblett decided that his mission in life was to help and serve others during their times of need, following the death of his father when Niblett was 14. At age 16, Niblett became an Explorer with Mobile (Ala.) Fire and Rescue, which marked the beginning of his desire to work in EMS.

“When I lost my father, I thought I would never recover. However, I did turn it around; instead of becoming engulfed in sorrow, I was determined to turn tragedy into motivation. Through this trial I have learned that life is what you make of it. If you surround yourself with genuinely great people and continue to keep your head up and press forward, good things will always come your way,” Niblett said during his acceptance speech.

In 2015, Niblett completed his course and passed the National Registry of EMTs exam on his first attempt. He faced challenges finding an EMT position because he was only 19 at the time, and many EMS organizations were unwilling to hire an EMT younger than 21. He did not let this stop him, and with drive, diligence and charm, he landed his first position with Newman’s Ambulance. Shortly afterward, he joined Acadian Ambulance in Jackson County.

Niblett is enrolled to start paramedic training at Acadian’s National EMS Academy and is a volunteer with the St. Elmo’s Fire Department.

“Coty is known as an “A-team player” who always steps up to help out. Often, he volunteers before he is even asked. He also has been the recipient of many local, state, national and department awards, commendations and titles,” said Jackson County Operations Manager Damon Wilson. Tyler serves his community with passion, which can be seen in all that he does in his work, his volunteer service and his life. We are proud that Jackson County is well-represented within Acadian and the local communities with these prestigious honors,” said Operations Manager Damon Wilson.

Regional honorees included Central Louisiana Paramedic Frank Lenoir and EMT Ja’Corian Coleman; Capital District Paramedic Jordan McGee and EMT Stephen Thomas; Northshore Paramedic John Fortner and EMT Victoria Ragoonath; New Orleans Paramedic Joseph Nguyen and EMT Brivan Garcia; Bayou Region Paramedic Brent Pellegrin and EMT Davontray Davis; Hub City Paramedic Heidi Broussard and EMT Christine Bourgeois; Southwest Louisiana Paramedic Nina Gorjaczew and EMT Tyler Hebert; Acadian Air Med Paramedic Rene Millet; and Safety Management Systems Remote Paramedic Aaron Young.

Senator Fred Mills Jr. served again this year as master of ceremonies, and Bill Curry, legendary college football coach, sports analyst and bestselling author, was the keynote speaker.

Acadian Chairman & CEO Richard Zuschlag shared his appreciation to the entire Acadian team for remaining dedicated to the company’s mission throughout its 46-year history. “It is truly humbling to sit among you today,” Zuschlag said. “Many people here in the audience have played an instrumental role in Acadian’s success through the years. Our employee-owners continue to help us grow throughout all of our diverse divisions. I want to thank all of the Acadian employees for their hard work, dedication, professionalism and loyalty.

“Thank you to everyone for being with us today to honor Coty and Tyler, and salute all of our medics, employees and fellow first responders,” Zuschlag continued.

Acadian Ambulance is committed to its patients and its communities, providing emergency and non-emergency medical transportation in Louisiana, Texas, and Mississippi.

Since 1971, Acadian has been dedicated to providing the highest level of emergency medical care and transportation possible. In the past decade, the company has expanded to include a diverse suite of services designed to offer the very best support and education in health, safety, and transportation. Acadian’s six divisions are Acadian Ambulance Service, Air Med, Executive Aircraft Charter Service, Acadian Total Security, National EMS Academy and Safety Management Systems.


Learn more about the 2017 Medics of the Year here.


Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!